Me, Myself and Why?


Lights_Sounds_CityThis world certainly has its share of distractions, conveniences, technology and opportunities.   As an understatement, however, at its core, the world is largely characterized by and graced with solitude, clarity of thought, peace and simplicity.

I had the rare opportunity to experience the latter last evening as a ravenous thunderstorm, packed with high winds, torrential rains and hail, ripped through my northern Wisconsin retreat, knocking out the power for eleven-plus hours.

During that time, I had the privilege to experience the peace of complete silence (after the storm hadNature_Quiet passed), the sounds of nature, the absence of technology and the effect of “time standing still”.  The nearly half-day of biblical heaven served as a time for self-analysis and life review, gratitude and spiritual renewal.

Assuredly, each person is unique in personality, faith and character.  For me, I choose to spend time, ideally every day, even if but for five to ten minutes, reflecting on my life, events, direction and goals.  It’s a bit of a huddle with myself, strange as it may sound, but golden_waves.jpghas served as absolutely profound time to ground myself as a human being, recognize all I have to be thankful for, and recommit and refocus my efforts to pursue my life goals and “readjust the sails” to stay on course.

It’s my “check the oil” time and it serves to determine that everything is ok, and if not, alerts me to whatever changes I need to make to return to that state of being.

“Without question, we all need that quick check on a regular basis to review where we have come from, where we are, and where we are headed; along with the necessary actions, mindset and change to get us there.”

Dare I say, Prayer Time.  I’ll offer a new phrase as a corollary to the “build it and they will come”; for me, it is “See and Listen with your heart and Respect your Conscience”.  Here is wishing you that slice of quiet time every day to remember who you are, and most importantly, why.  Let me take you there…

Be well.

About MW Cerkas

Compassion for People, Passion for Writing, Living my Conscience; "Look for the Good, Always" Positive, Creative, Seasoned Writer, Leader, Marketer, Authentic Spirit, Entrepreneur. Continuously seeking the GOOD in others and how to HELP them. Paying it Forward, Preparing for Eternity. Be well!

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Natural Beauty, Personal Growth, Philosophy, Truths, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you for mentioning “Space, Solitude and Introverts”. Space & solitude always help us centre ourselves- something we all need.
    Willow

    Like

  2. Mechele R. Dillard

    Could not agree more, Michael; if I don’t take some quiet time every single day, for personal prayer and reflection, my life starts to go nutty … great post. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Mechele. Yes, those precious few minutes every day serve to maintain my sanity, keep me humble and enhance my awareness of my being, purpose and role in life. I call it “Windex for the Soul”.. Be well.

      Like

My thoughts are...

Take a walk with me

Just another WordPress.com site

Wikipedia - Recent changes [en]

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

karenwriteshere

Hope isn't an emotion, but a daily choice. Keep choosing the path of hope.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Journey Through Recovery

Amy McCalister's Journey Through Recovery

Get Reading Now

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

authorshelpingauthors.wordpress.com/

AHA! A library of articles providing instant access to resources and tips, written by authors, for authors. Never a charge for membership, the door is always open! Come on in and stay awhile...

Bible Aid

Finding Hope in Christ

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

On the Brighter Side

A place to feel motivated and inspired ♥

GREATNESSwithin

together we can create a more prosperous, just, peaceful, sustainable world. Inspiration awakens the world.

ellesblognotes's Blog

seek and ye shall find

UFP NEWS

The Best Conservative News Source

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Linaelini's Blog

Expressions of life from a 30 something perspective

Write Lexi

An inspirational blog

