Learning to See with your Heart and Feel with your Soul


Costanza

Jason Alexander

George Costanza of Seinfeld (Jason Alexander) had an epiphany in one episode where he brilliantly realized that everything in his life would be made right if he simply did the “opposite” of what his initial thoughts were.

Subsequently instead of answering “no” to someone’s question, he would answer in the affirmative; instead of deciding not to go somewhere, he would choose the opposite, and go.  And although that was merely a story line and fiction, it is conceptually thought-provoking and intriguing.

sandy-hook-cemetery_465

Sandy Hook Cemetery

In a few, critical aspects of our lives, George can be that role model for us.  In the most profound way, it applies to how we perceive our world.  Specifically, when we observe events, people and situations, when bad things occur, many times, our initial reaction and thoughts gravitate toward “why is the world so full of apathy, hatred and violence?”.

Case in point, the Sandy Hook Elementary School Tragedy, where an autistic young man with a personality disorder, used his mother’s unsecured firearms to take the lives of 20 children and 6 adults prior to ultimately ending his own.

In Truth, these conditions indeed exist, however, on the surface, not as the result of the Catholicpresence of emotions and actions, but rather, as the direct result of the absence of God and His spirit.  And so it is with many situations in life, i.e., domestic violence, divorce, abusive relationships, juvenile crime, civil unrest, bullying, etc.  Taking that unconventional “out of the box” approach, many of the scourges of life, society and culture can be considered the outcome of an absence rather than a presence of factors.

The invitation and presence of God in our lives manifests itself in the form of human beings with self-esteem and respect, humility, faith, love, positive attitude and sound family and friend support systems.

In reference to a previous post on this site, Seeing is really not believing, but rather, Believing causes us to See in an unique manner.  In many respects, we have it backwards from a cause and effect perspective.  We have effectively pushed God out of our schools, government and public places and then in the same thought sequence or breath, fail to comprehend why violence, hatred, crime and immorality are increasing at alarming rates in our society.  It is as if we have become blinded by the negative to such a degree we have voided any room in our minds to hold the positive, the religious, the just and the spiritual.

We have likewise traded worshiping God for the false gods of entertainment, flesh, technology, science and mind-altering substances.  Collectively, these addictions consume our being, slowly forcing out the one true and real God.  And we have no one to blame but ourselves.

I’ve always considered myself to be a sincere, positive and genuine person, so it is easy for me to make that cognitive and theological leap toward believing in God and that we truly see with our hearts and feel with our souls.  Our heart and soul is our GPS guidance and navigation system to life and living, and people that have reached and accepted that conclusion are the happiest and most peaceful and content people I have ever met or interacted with during my lifetime.

In closing this thought, our challenge is to humbly acknowledge that our lives are meaningless without God in them, to guide, console, spiritually nurture, learn, grow as human beings and most importantly, Love.  Love is the ultimate energy force in the universe.  Nothing less will be acceptable if we are to be successful in slowing down and eventually reversing the alarming, dangerous and devastating trends in our existence.

“We live by faith, not by sight.” -2 Corinthians 5:7

God bless us all.  Be well.

About MW Cerkas

Compassion for People, Passion for Writing, Living my Conscience; "Look for the Good, Always" Positive, Creative, Seasoned Writer, Leader, Marketer, Authentic Spirit, Entrepreneur. Continuously seeking the GOOD in others and how to HELP them. Paying it Forward, Preparing for Eternity. Be well!

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Personal Growth, Philosophy, Theology, Truths, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Blessings to you. I truly am someone who sees with my heart and feels with my soul. It is in part to the personality type God blessed me with. But it has always been natural to feel situations and see things from those feelings. The words that come and express themselves and what my heart says about those things. I don’t see people outwardly as much as I see into their heart and spirit and it tells me so much that I wait and generally I can perceive that they’ve been abused, sad, had simple lives etc. Many things. I don’t tell them but wait and watch and see if that perception was correct. It was my gift from God growing up in such an abusive home. Things that I was told, if they didn’t pass the heart and spirit test, and the words and feelings didn’t connect like internet service, I went with what my heart said and the feelings that came from that.
    It rarely has failed me. I do know that people are affected by psychological dysfunction. I was a product of that. I know God will heal in HIs time and way. But I also know we must be willing participants in that desire to change. If we don’t things like Sandy Hook and Columbine along with every other mass shooting will exist. People need to seek the right change and not allow unresolved issues and feelings be their homing pigeon. But some are so miserable and feel so lost, and my heart does feel sadness for them. I still have siblings in that place. And they don’t seek help. They don’t care enough about themselves. I do appreciate what you write about. And thank you for your cyber support as well. Change is possible. My life is not whole yet, but enough that I can live in the peace, and hope and love that I need to thrive and go forward. But I am continuing to deal with and find measures to manage PTSD and Dissociative Thought Disorder. It is much better than in the past. But because of anointing, healing, and the desire to be better than what I was.
    Yisraela

    Like

    • Yisraela,
      Thank you for your insightful, caring and candid thoughts. I appreciate them very much. My goal in writing (besides self-therapy, lol) is to positively influence as many human beings and spirits as I can by discussing various aspects of our life (attitude, religious beliefs, salvation, eternal life, compassion, conscience, demons, challenges, etc.). My hope is to leave the world (every day) a better place than it was when I awoke. My writing is my testimony to all that is good in the world and that God is as Real and Tangible as anything else in the physical world, just accessible via other senses (Intuition/ESP (Mind), Balance/Equilibrium (Body) and Faith (Soul); senses that many people are unaware they even possess.

      I will offer to you the name of another online connection who is also an author and someone who is living with PTSD. Her name is JL Vallee (pen name) and her book is “Severed Soul”. If you wish to connect with her, just send me an email (mcerkas@gmail.com) and I will provide her contact information to you.

      Also, FYI (cyber help) when I saw that you posted a comment on my web site/post, your Gravatar icon displayed, along with your name as 2embracethelight, however, unlike other Gravatar profiles/links, yours was not active as a hyperlink and subsequently, one could not click on it to navigate to your site. To fix that, I believe you need to update your Gravatar Profile to include your web site name.

      Be well.
      Michael

      Like

      • Thank you. I did not know that. I will check that out. I have a faithful friend who edites for me. Nice knowing you. We are all here to help one another. And to be a light for others who can’t see.
        God has always been a vital part of my life even though there were times, I was not a vital part of HIs.
        Yisraela

        Like

  2. Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog! Gratitude Dance! May the love of the universe fill your heart always! :~)

    Like

  1. Pingback: Capturing Emotion Through the Camouflage of Life « The Inspired Verse

My thoughts are...

Take a walk with me

Just another WordPress.com site

Wikipedia - Recent changes [en]

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

karenwriteshere

Hope isn't an emotion, but a daily choice. Keep choosing the path of hope.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Journey Through Recovery

Amy McCalister's Journey Through Recovery

Get Reading Now

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

authorshelpingauthors.wordpress.com/

AHA! A library of articles providing instant access to resources and tips, written by authors, for authors. Never a charge for membership, the door is always open! Come on in and stay awhile...

Bible Aid

Finding Hope in Christ

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

Creating Space, LLC.

Creating space in your life for faith, family and moxie

On the Brighter Side

A place to feel motivated and inspired ♥

GREATNESSwithin

together we can create a more prosperous, just, peaceful, sustainable world. Inspiration awakens the world.

ellesblognotes's Blog

seek and ye shall find

UFP NEWS

The Best Conservative News Source

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Linaelini's Blog

Expressions of life from a 30 something perspective

Write Lexi

An inspirational blog

