To Believe is to See


Believing_Is_SeeingContrary to the old axiom, “Seeing is Believing”, truth, reality and wisdom indicate otherwise.  If you take the time to really think about it, you will discover that what you see is truly dependent upon what you believe.  To reference another legendary quote, “Beauty is in the Eyes of the Beholder”; meaning, each person perceives (or sees) beauty in their own unique way.

And so it is with how we perceive the world around us.  What each of us considers beauty, or happiness, perhaps even evil, resonates from our souls and is inextricably connected to our core beliefs and values of good, bad, right, wrong; and oh yes, God.Child_Smiling

Two people can witness the same event and come away with completely opposite impressions of what occurred.  A football game, an auto accident, an interaction between two people, a sunset, trees swaying in the wind, a child’s smile.  And although all of our senses contribute to our images and memories in our lives, it is singularly our sight that influences us most.

Crimson_sunsetThe colors of the rainbow, rosy red cheeks in winter, a crimson horizon emblazoned with a fiery ball, that eerily cast shadow of a building, the tears of a crying child, the sadness of a broken heart.  Each scenario generates images in your mind; images that are influenced by each of our pasts, experiences and memories.

When I see… An old aluminum fishing boat, the visions in my mind immediately crystalize of daysMirro_Deep_Fisherman spent fishing with my dad, enjoying the peaceful sunrise on the water, sharing a sandwich, exchanging ideas; and loving every second of our time together.

When I see… An American Flag, emotions of sacrifice, pain, and immense gratitude fill my heart, because I know that tens of thousands of patriotic and brave soldiers fought for my right to be free, to live where I wish, to travel where I desire, to write of my thoughts.

When I see… an elderly person walking slowly, with a slight hitch in their gait, yet a Agnes_Cerkaspeaceful smile on their face, thoughts of kindness and helpfulness, perseverance, family and humility enter my mind, for I can see a life spent serving others and caring for themselves last.  Most assuredly I see an image of my mom.

So you see, it all originates within your heart and soul.  Your essence, your spiritual DNA as I like to call it, determines what you truly see in the world that surrounds, yet includes and depends on you.  Truly, each of us chooses what we see as we open our eyes.  We see with our heart and our soul, we create the image and memory of our focus, we relate our experiences in life to everything our eyes enable us to perceive.

The Truth of the matter is that we create our lives with every tick of the clock, beat of the heart and belief in our soul.  If we genuinely desire a better world for us and for our children, let it begin with positive thoughts of gratitude, humility, generosity, peace, reverence and respect.

WhiteDoveI have a vision not only of my past, and not only for my future, but a vision of the world that Can be what I desire it to be.  And the most profound realization of all is that I can most assuredly create that future world, by seeing what I believe, by projecting my positivity to individuals when we interact, to my family on a daily basis and to the world when they read my words expressing my thoughts and ideas.

Do you See what I mean?

 

About MW Cerkas

Compassion for People, Passion for Writing, Living my Conscience; "Look for the Good, Always" Positive, Creative, Seasoned Writer, Leader, Marketer, Authentic Spirit, Entrepreneur. Continuously seeking the GOOD in others and how to HELP them. Paying it Forward, Preparing for Eternity. Be well!

Posted on December 13, 2012, in Natural Beauty, Personal Growth, Philosophy, Theology, Truths, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

My thoughts are...

Take a walk with me

Just another WordPress.com site

Wikipedia - Recent changes [en]

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

karenwriteshere

Hope isn't an emotion, but a daily choice. Keep choosing the path of hope.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Journey Through Recovery

Amy McCalister's Journey Through Recovery

Get Reading Now

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

authorshelpingauthors.wordpress.com/

AHA! A library of articles providing instant access to resources and tips, written by authors, for authors. Never a charge for membership, the door is always open! Come on in and stay awhile...

Bible Aid

Finding Hope in Christ

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

On the Brighter Side

A place to feel motivated and inspired ♥

GREATNESSwithin

together we can create a more prosperous, just, peaceful, sustainable world. Inspiration awakens the world.

ellesblognotes's Blog

seek and ye shall find

UFP NEWS

The Best Conservative News Source

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Linaelini's Blog

Expressions of life from a 30 something perspective

Write Lexi

An inspirational blog

