The Ultimate Time Machine – Your Mind


Growing up as a young teen, I was smitten and fascinated by science and how it intertwined and intersected with my reality of being a Catholic and my belief in God.  Those were my formative years when I was developing my belief and value system, using input from my parents, family and friends, my environment, school and teachers, personal experience and most importantly, my imagination and free will.

The NASA Space Program influenced my desire to be an astronaut, my dad’s work as a mechanic stirred my interest in becoming an engineer, my mom’s compassion for others drove me to help others whenever and wherever I could.  I was a proverbial glob of things and people, a hybrid of sorts in that seemingly, everything interested me to a degree.  The world was mine and I knew it!

The boundary or limitation holding me back, however, from becoming all of these things in life, was time.  Time to read, time to get first-hand experience, time to learn, time to do chores, time to practice the guitar, time to make decisions about my future.  And yes, I can remember being concerned with my future since I was roughly 5 or 6 years old.  Oddly, I also knew that most kids my age were primarily concerned with bubble gum, Mickey Mouse and Schwinn Stingray bicycles.  Without question, however, I accepted my uniqueness as my state of “normal” and simply went on with my life.

I had many times reveled in my ability to transcend time, remembering special events, how lucky I was to be me, a few unpleasant memories (overall, I was really a “good” kid), and the wonderment about what it would be like to live in the future.  I was living what Michael J Fox was acting in his “Back to the Future” trilogy movies.  Life was cool.

Even at that budding young age, I was completely aware of things I could control as well as those that I could not.  Even though I knew little of many things around me, I did know of their existence and felt privileged to be able to choose which ones I wanted to learn more about.  I considered myself extremely “lucky“.

Among many of life’s distractions that consumed my interests were Sherlock Holmes (I read every book), anything to do with Undersea Adventure (Jules Verne, SCUBA diving, shipwrecks and Jacques Cousteau), space exploration and natural science (earth, volcanoes, tornadoes, stalagmites, lightning and thunder, etc.).  The world was my science lab and I was the Not-so-Nutty Professor  (Gilligan’s Island was my favorite television show, along with the Wild, Wild, West and Star Trek).

My point in this trip down “Memory Lane” is precisely that; each of us has the ultimate Time Machine at our disposal – our Mind!   Whether we are remembering aspects of our lives, events and places or conjuring up the future and how we will conquer it, using our imagination and ability to crystalize thoughts into “reality” is one of the greatest gifts we can experience as a human being.

I have always been a firm believer in the power of imagination, to the extent of fervently believing that we can indeed create our future via our thoughts, imagination, free will and energy.  It is no surprise that Michael J Fox is one of my hero’s and favorite actors for his string of hit movies with that oh so cool DeLorean, Mr Fusion and Hoverboard.  It is like winning the lottery of the mind, knowing you will never exhaust resources to create anything your heart desires.

In that respect, being able to transcend time with the power of your mind literally makes us all eternal beings.  When you fondly remember specific moments in time spent with those people physically no longer here (my dad, mom and several special friends, even my best friends in Sampson, my closest Golden Retriever), it is a profoundly powerful awareness and indisputable proof that those people (and pets) are indeed real and will live forever, as long as you include them in your thoughts.

Additionally, when I take the time to consciously re-live memories or stare up at the clouds or stars and let my mind go whenever and wherever I want it to go, it creates within me indescribable feelings of euphoria and gratitude that I am able to do this.  It leaves me energized, optimistic and respectful of what my future holds and provides me an incredible dose of appreciation for life.

So, when you are troubled, frustrated, angry or sad, know that you have the power within you to change those emotions into positive ones of joy, happiness and inspiration, by simply changing your thoughts, creating positive energy and generating immense gratitude for the opportunity to do so.

Well, it’s time for me to create my future, “travel” to have that conversation with my mom & dad, hug my best friend Sampson and create that plan to save the world.  Everything in due time.  Be well my friends.

About MW Cerkas

Compassion for People, Passion for Writing, Living my Conscience; "Look for the Good, Always" Positive, Creative, Seasoned Writer, Leader, Marketer, Authentic Spirit, Entrepreneur. Continuously seeking the GOOD in others and how to HELP them. Paying it Forward, Preparing for Eternity. Be well!

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Personal Growth, Philosophy, Technology, Truths, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

My thoughts are...

Take a walk with me

Just another WordPress.com site

Wikipedia - Recent changes [en]

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

karenwriteshere

Hope isn't an emotion, but a daily choice. Keep choosing the path of hope.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Journey Through Recovery

Amy McCalister's Journey Through Recovery

Get Reading Now

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

authorshelpingauthors.wordpress.com/

AHA! A library of articles providing instant access to resources and tips, written by authors, for authors. Never a charge for membership, the door is always open! Come on in and stay awhile...

Bible Aid

Finding Hope in Christ

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

On the Brighter Side

A place to feel motivated and inspired ♥

GREATNESSwithin

together we can create a more prosperous, just, peaceful, sustainable world. Inspiration awakens the world.

ellesblognotes's Blog

seek and ye shall find

UFP NEWS

The Best Conservative News Source

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Linaelini's Blog

Expressions of life from a 30 something perspective

Write Lexi

An inspirational blog

