Hello – My name is Michael and I’m a Helpaholic


Have you ever wondered what impact your actions have on others?

Have you ever contemplated how the world would be different if you were not a part of it?

Questions like these force introspective thought and if pursued, will reveal much about your character.  In my heart, I believe that all people are good and want to do good in their lives.  The question to be answered does not focus on the intent to do and be good, but rather, what is preventing us from doing and being ‘good’.

Throughout my life, I’ve always been consumed with helping others, whether it’s picking up an item for someone that dropped it, or opening a door for a complete stranger in a store, or offering directions to someone who is visibly lost.  Many times I have mulled over in my mind the reason(s) for my helpful behavior, more importantly, my intent.  Amazingly and fortunately, my actions create a sense of purpose and value, acquiring an euphoric feeling and accomplishment.

What I’ve found is that my reward for helping others is simply how good it makes me feel when and after I do it.  This may be a somewhat selfish perspective, however, I choose to perceive it as an avenue that impacts my future behavior which in turn, (hopefully) impacts others.  I also receive a lasting residual effect, if you will, that remains with me for a period of time; call it a natural high.

For me, there is joy in the simple things in life, whether it is watching an amazing sunset on the water, staring at the clouds as they whisper across the sky or just sitting next to my family, enjoying their company, i.e., presence.

These simple truths, if you will, cleanse my soul, sharpen my focus in life and serve to identify and arrange my priorities in life.  As elementary as this may appear, I view it as absolutely critical to creating a solid foundation that ‘sets the stage’ for me each and every day.  It’s like ensuring you have a full tank of gas before traveling to a destination; ANY destination.

Most importantly, helping others is a deliberate choice I make.  It’s a win-win scenario in that it makes me right and in turn, empowers me to extend that goodwill to others, creating a domino effect that hopefully continues without end.  I highly recommend this choice to everyone.  There is no downside and certainly a considerable upside.  And if helping other people isn’t enough, there is always the Pay It Forward approach, i.e., helping others without an established need, very similar to a random act of kindness.

Got Some Good?

About MW Cerkas

Compassion for People, Passion for Writing, Living my Conscience; "Look for the Good, Always" Positive, Creative, Seasoned Writer, Leader, Marketer, Authentic Spirit, Entrepreneur. Continuously seeking the GOOD in others and how to HELP them. Paying it Forward, Preparing for Eternity. Be well!

Posted on June 25, 2012, in General, Personal Growth, Philosophy, Truths and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. There is no doubt in my mind that I am in fact a “helpaholic.” And I first I thought I had created that word to define myself, but then I read your article and realized that I am not alone. I too get gratification from helping others. I enjoy the smile on their face, the way they received a piece of myself and I too thought that helping someone else meant I was creating a path in their lives that will live with them forever. My helpfullness has changed lives and it is those examples that I hold dear that has kept me for the passed 17 years to continue to change lives. However, when you said “no downside” to being a helpaholic, well, there I have to disagree. Have you ever been used because you are a helpaholic? I mean, have you truly ever given to someone that came back to take more from you and you gave again because not only were you addicted to the fact that you helped someone, but he/she was also an addicted receiver. Someone close to me calls it a “pushover,” but the truth is I have convinced myself that I was giving him/her the next step in his/her life that he/she needed to help themselves to succeed. I wanted so badly for your article to make me feel like I wasn’t just a pushover, but I think that perhaps you and I have a different view on what a “helpaholic” is. To me, a helpaholic is not something that is good, it’s like shopaholic, in the end we are only hurting ourselves.

    Like

    • Shatane,
      Thank you for your thoughts about this article and how you perceive being a ‘helpaholic’. For me, helping others is a way of life. Sure, there will be instances where your help is taken for granted or when you feel you have been taken advantage of by someone. Regardless, I believe helping others (even repeatedly) enables you to live your conscience and not worry about things that are outside of your control; like how others behave/act. I guess what I mean is that my Spiritual DNA instructs me to continue to give in the hope that someone will eventually learn something from my help… Each person must live their own conscience and for me, being a helpaholic is something I am not ashamed to be. I am confident in myself and my values, however, I refuse to be considered a victim by someone else’s definition of it. Bottom line, do what you feel is right. I lead by example and if that means being taken advantage of, then so be it. My focus is on the end-goal of eternal life and salvation. My physical life is simply a means to an end. Be well… God bless you.

      Like

My thoughts are...

Take a walk with me

Just another WordPress.com site

Wikipedia - Recent changes [en]

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

karenwriteshere

Hope isn't an emotion, but a daily choice. Keep choosing the path of hope.

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

Journey Through Recovery

Amy McCalister's Journey Through Recovery

Get Reading Now

"Infuse your Soul with an IV of Inspiring & Creative Words"

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

authorshelpingauthors.wordpress.com/

AHA! A library of articles providing instant access to resources and tips, written by authors, for authors. Never a charge for membership, the door is always open! Come on in and stay awhile...

Bible Aid

Finding Hope in Christ

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

Creating Space, LLC.

Creating space in your life for faith, family and moxie

On the Brighter Side

A place to feel motivated and inspired ♥

GREATNESSwithin

together we can create a more prosperous, just, peaceful, sustainable world. Inspiration awakens the world.

ellesblognotes's Blog

seek and ye shall find

UFP NEWS

The Best Conservative News Source

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Linaelini's Blog

Expressions of life from a 30 something perspective

Write Lexi

An inspirational blog

